01 Villanelle

Here I stand broken long after the fall
Battered and torn but refusing to die
And learning that you don’t know me at all

Giving so much handing over it all
You only ever kept asking me why
Here I stand broken long after the fall

All the time ending by hitting a wall
Knowing you even lack the will to try
And learning that you don’t know me at all

Always left lonely and feeling so small
Never sure of any truth in the lie
Here I stand broken long after the fall

I must ultimately give up the call
Wipe my face dry while refusing to cry
And learning that you don’t know me at all

Despite my attempts to keep standing tall
Exhausted my screaming turned to a sigh
Here I stand broken long after the fall
And learning that you don’t know me at all

Leave a Reply

